Independent School District 592 PO Box 67 111 East Broadway Climax, Minnesota 56523-2325

WILLIAM WALTERS, Superintendent KATE NESVIG, Bookkeeper 218-857-2385 Fax: 218-857-3544 ART MEYER, K-Principal ASHLEY BRAATEN, Secretary 218-857-2395

MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION Climax-Shelly ISD #592 - Climax, MN 56523

The Board of Education of Independent School District #592, Climax, MN held their Executive Reorganizational meeting on Monday, January 23, 2019 at 5:00 p.m. in the Music Room of the Climax-Shelly School. Bill Walters, Superintendent, called the meeting to order at 5:00 p.m. with the following board members present: Brad Erickson, Bryan Stortroen, Toscha Larson, Molly Paulsrud, Beth Rarick, and Jayne Nesvig. Superintendent Bill Walters, Mason Grimes, and Brendan Mitzel were also in attendance. K-12 Principal Art Meyer was absent. Vance Thoreson arrived after the meeting was called to order.

Election of officers was held for the 2019 year. Brad Erickson was nominated for Chairman. Bryan moved Molly second, that we cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Brad Erickson. Motion carried unanimously. Chairman Brad Erickson took over the meeting.

Bryan Stortroen was nominated for Vice Chairman. Molly moved Beth second that we cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Bryan Stortroen. Motion carried unanimously.

Beth Rarick was nominated for Treasurer. Bryan moved Toscha second that we cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Beth Rarick. Motion carried unanimously.

Toscha Larson was nominated for Clerk. Molly moved Jayne second that we cease nominations and cast a unanimous ballot for Toscha Larson. Motion carried unanimously.

Bryan moved Toscha second the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to name Vance Thoreson, Molly Paulsrud, and Jayne Nesvig as Directors. Motion carried unanimously.

Bryan moved Vance second the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED that the regular monthly Board of Education meetings be held on the 3rd Monday of each month at 6:00 pm October through April and at 8:00 pm May through September for FY 19. Motion carried unanimously.

Independent School District 592 PO Box 67 111 East Broadway Climax, Minnesota 56523-2325

WILLIAM WALTERS, Superintendent KATE NESVIG, Bookkeeper 218-857-2385 Fax: 218-857-3544 ART MEYER, K-Principal ASHLEY BRAATEN , Secretary 218-857-2395

Bryan moved Toscha second BE IT RESOLVED to have committee assignments for FY 2019 as recommended by Superintendent Bill Walters and indicated here. Motion carried unanimously. Region 8 MSHSL School Board Representative - Bryan Stortroen MSBA Legislative Representative - Bryan Stortroen Continuing Education Committee - Molly Paulsrud Negotiations Committee - Beth Rarick, Brad Erickson, Toscha Larson Curriculum/Instruction/Performance Representatives - Brad Erickson, Jayne Nesvig Transportation Committee - Vance Thoreson, Bryan Stortroen Technology/NW Links Representatives - Brad Erickson, Jayne Nesvig Sports Co-op Committee - Beth Rarick, Molly Paulsrud, Bryan Stortroen Building Committee - Toscha Larson, Beth Rarick, Bryan Stortroen

Toscha moved Bryan second the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED the official school newspaper is the Exponent for FY 2019. Motion carried unanimously.

Vance moved Molly second the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED that Bremer Bank, Agassiz Federal Credit Union, Wells Fargo Bank, 1st National Bank of Minneapolis and Minnesota Liquid Asset Fund be named as the official depositories for FY 2019. Motion carried unanimously.

Bryan moved Toscha second the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED that Superintendent Bill Walters, Bookkeeper Kate Nesvig and the Treasurer of the Board Beth Rarick be authorized to invest available cash on hand from operating funds and the capital expenditure and debt redemption funds as excess cash flow limitations allow. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that the investments be limited to passbook savings and time investments. BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED that Superintendent Bill Walters, Bookkeeper Kate Nesvig, and Treasurer of the Board Beth Rarick are also authorized to make wire transfers of school district funds for FY 19. Motion carried unanimously.

Molly moved Bryan second the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to appoint Brad Erickson as hot lunch review officer for FY 19. Motion carried unanimously.

Toscha moved Beth second the following motion: BE IT RESOLVED to adjourn the meeting at 5:11 pm. Motion carried unanimously.

Respectfully submitted, Toscha Larson, Clerk